Welcome to the #dominoforever Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated jointly by the IBM & HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events around #dominoforever, please visit our Destination Domino page.


Add status field (Active/Inactive) to Person document

Many staff are contracted as a fixed term hire on a repeating basis. (i.e. hired for a fixed period of time e.g. 3 months each year)

The ability of a Domino Administrator to be able to change the status of a person from Active to inactive  inactive to active would remove the need to delete the person and then re-register them the next time they are hired again.

When a person document is inactive it should not appear in Notes user email lookups, directory lookups or email delivery.

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Oct 13 2018
  • Attach files
  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    October 16, 2018 09:47

    What is the reason for keeping a person document in the Domino Directory then if you don't want to have the name showing up in name lookups, etc?

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    October 16, 2018 11:15

    Hi Thomas thanks for your question.  The benefit of being able to keeping a person document is to

    1. Save the time not having to re-register the person including any alias' names that may have accrued due to historic renames.

    2. This also preserves the person's email history as their mail db is not deleted.

    Hope that assists.

    Mark

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    October 16, 2018 11:35

    Also : the person's name is kept in ACL, ACL groups and delegation settings.

  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    October 16, 2018 12:15

    you could remove the person document, e.g. cut/paste it into another backup nsf. However, the user would still have access, the notesID would still be alive. 
    To deny access, add the user to a deny access group.

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    October 16, 2018 12:33

    Thank you for the tip but this is what we do today. We would like a friendlier, easier and more intuive way of doing it.

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    October 17, 2018 00:14

    Yes that seems like a messy workaround. where a Active/inactive status field on the person document would be much simpler.

    Putting the person in a deny access group stops access at server level, but still allows other users to see and select the person from the Dom dir. when they are inactive.