Welcome to the #dominoforever Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated jointly by the IBM & HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events around #dominoforever, please visit our Destination Domino page.


Prompt users to remove seldom used Location Documents

A common issue for staff who have been with us ten years or more is that they have five or more Location Documents. This can cause confusion about which is the right one to change to, and results in help desk calls if the user is not able to resolve the issue themselves. It would be helpful if users were prompted from time to time to remove Location Documents that they seldom access.  

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Jul 20 2018
  • Attach files
  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    July 20, 2018 21:55

    Even location documents that are not used on a regular basis have a reason to stay. Think about the traveling salesman having to switch location just once per quarter. Where do you draw the line between location documents that have to stay and those that can be deleted?

    The bigger question might be how to manage location documents within the Notes client. There are tools that can provide this functionality (Panagenda MarvelClient, BCC ClientGenie, CooperTeam DesktopManager, etc.) but those are 3rd party tools that are not for free. 

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    July 23, 2018 15:05

    I agree that removing a seldom used location document might inconvenience staff who travel. However, the ability to work online while on a flight has reduced the need to be able to switch locations. For the majority of deskbound users switching between locations results in a help desk call.  

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    August 16, 2018 10:10

    Location documents should be fully manageable by policies at least. Currently there is no option to delete them. On our environment there is a lot of helpdesk issues related to accidentally switched location document.